National Rifle Association of America
Press release
March 20, 2009

At Monday night’s meeting of the Albany County Legislature, Legislators PhillipSteck (D), Douglas Bullock (D) and Wanda Willingham (D) introduced Local Law “A”, a proposal that would regulate the purchase of ammunition in Albany County. 

Local Law “A” would require that a valid firearms license be shown when purchasing ammunition.  The law would also mandate that retailers keep a record of ammunition sales, including the type, caliber, and quantity of the ammunition, make, model and serial number of the firearm it is for, as well as the purchaser’s name and address.  As if that is not enough, Local Law “A” would also create a secondary method of gun registration for both long guns and handguns.  Local Law “A” has been sent to the Law Committee.

[efoods]Congress has tried ammunition registration in the past, only to discover that it was not only ineffective for law enforcement, but also completely unmanageable due to the sheer volume of transactions.  Ammunition registration creates huge record keeping requirements and provides no useful benefits for law enforcement; which is why it was repealed under the Firearm Owners Protection Act of 1986.

Please contact the members of the Law Committee and the County Legislators TODAY and respectfully voice your opposition to Local Law “A.”  Contact information for the members of the Law Committee can be found below.  County Legislators can be reached by phone at (518) 447-7168 or fax (518) 447-5695.  For more contact information, please visit . 

George L. Infante – District 01
9 McDonald Road
Albany, NY 12209
Home: (518) 449-5822

Christopher T. Higgins – District 06
88 Dove Street
Albany, NY 12210
(518) 320-8580
[email protected]

Donald W. Rahm – District 09
271 South Main Avenue
Albany, NY 12208
Phone: (518) 489-2277
[email protected]

Phillip G. Steck – District 15
12 Paul Holly Drive
Loudonville, NY 12211
Phone: (518) 463-7786
[email protected]

Robert J. Beston – District 16
1406 6th Avenue
Watervliet, NY 12189
Home: (518) 272-1038

Shawn M. Morse – District 18
PO Box 402
Cohoes, NY 12047
(518) 470-4126
[email protected]

William M. Hoblock – District 26
20 DeLucia Terrace
Loudonville, New York 12211
Home: (518) 465-2906
[email protected]

Patrice Lockart – District 27
12 Peach Tree Lane
Albany, NY 12205
(518) 456-3866
[email protected]

Bryan M. Clenahan – District 30
30 Woodlake Road
Albany, NY 12203
Telephone: (518) 464-7601
[email protected]

The Emergency Election Sale is now live! Get 30% to 60% off our most popular products today!

Related Articles